A crafts forum. CraftBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » CraftBanter forum » Textiles newsgroups » Needlework
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Questions about 36ct fabric; plys of thread & bead size?

Old October 22nd 17, 05:53 PM posted to rec.crafts.textiles.needlework
Violet Stitches
external usenet poster

Default Questions about 36ct fabric; plys of thread & bead size?

I bought the pattern for Mirabilia's Petal Fairy, see it he
http://www.123stitch.com/item/Mirabi...attern/04-3255

Now I'm contemplating what to do. I have a gorgeous peachy colored, opalescent fabric in my stash, but it's 36ct and I've never worked on that before.

If I were to stitch 2 over 2, would the thread be too thick for 36 count fabric?

I'm also considering stitching 1 over 1 but I've never done that before. Will 1 thread be enough coverage on 36ct? The pattern calls for Kreinik...I can't believe that stuff can be worked 1 over 1. Perhaps just using a single strand of blending filament would work?

Have you guys ever stitched such a large pattern 1 over 1 before, and will mistakes be too difficult to rip out? I doubt I can get through a pattern this size without needing to rip out at least some stitches (I make mistakes all the time).

Also, there's not too many beads on this project...it's hard to tell on the picture but the beads are only at the ends of the fairy's wings and swirling around the bottom of her dress (they aren't packed in too tightly, as they are in other mira's). What size bead should I use for 36ct?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions you might have.
Ads
Old October 23rd 17, 05:47 PM posted to rec.crafts.textiles.needlework
Joan Erickson